Can you help me with AeT and other training questions?

• Creator
    Topic
    Diego
    Participant

Hi Scott, Steve and the UA team.
    I am writing to you from Italy and I am reading for the second time the tftua book which I find extraordinary.
    I am 50 years old, I have been running for about 3 years and the longest distance I have done in mountain running is 40km 2000d +. I have come from years of cycling which I still continue to practice.
    I recovered from an injury in March as I was preparing for a 65km race with 2500d +. I was being followed by a coach who made me do too many intense work and too many long distances but he would not listen to me when I told him that I was feeling very tired and with sore legs. In the end I arrived at the day of the race with a groin pain, a strong tiredness and I didn’t do the race. I have since stopped running for a month and intensified my bike rides. Then I started with some jogging up to 1 month ago.
    For 3 weeks, I started the transition period by following the chart in the book and doing muscle strengthening in the legs and core 1 day a week. I took the test to know the AeT and it turned out to be 133 beats at 5’50 ” – 6 ‘/ km.
    Lt instead at 162 beats. I am running as indicated only under AeT but the sensations are not really good because it even seems to me that I have to go slower after a few km compared to the pace I had obtained from the test. I also find it a bit too tiring even to do 10km at 6 ‘/ km by calculating the slowness with which I am running. When I find a small bump or a short, slight rise my heart rate tends to go up by 5/6 beats and I have to walk to make it go down.
    I wanted to ask you:
    1-Could it be that fatigue is due to never having run so slowly and that the body finds it difficult to use fat for energy?
    2- If I want to ride a racing bike, can I go beyond AeT or do I still have to stay below? I would not be able to go uphill without going over AeT.