Can AeT test feel tough?

• Creator
    Topic
    grs_10
    Participant

Having read TftUA, I have been using it to guide my running training – brilliant resource alongside website! My background is xc bike racing and fell running. I trained through last winter using nasal breathing to set my aerobic zones, but now i have access to a treadmill i wanted to complete a Drift test. I know from pre lockdown races my AnT is 188bpm (been constant at that for quite a while). So monday past i got set up and completed the test – polar chest strap, elevation set 3%, pace 7.3mph. To be honest i found the test quite hard (was off the back of a recovery week) – i deliberately didn’t check HR during the test. Reviewing the file afterwards – 15 min warm up to c.165-170bpm (where i thought AeT might be from nasal breathing), first 30 min HR av 171, second 30min HR av 180bpm, giving a drift of 5.2%. My concern was that i felt the test was tough and my HR maxed at the end at 186bpm, so could it be that the 5% drift is because I was so close to AnT (giving a false test result) or can the test be tough if your AeT and your AnT are relatively close together? I have been training all winter with my aerobic runs between 140-150bpm at a comfortable what i felt was Z1 pace. Am thinking my AeT could be c.170bpm with AnT 188bpm? Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Posted In: Mountain Running

MarkPostle on #41865

grs,