Benefits of indoor rock climbing gym

• Creator
    Topic
    mzkarim
    Participant

Hi,

I’m a beginner and in Week 5 of the 24-week Mountaineering Plan. I do indoor rock climbing once a week as training for mountaineering and alpinism. I did an outdoor rock climbing course over the weekend and that is, obviously, quite different from indoor rock climbing. My question is: I’m paying $60 a month for the climbing gym, plus hourly fee for coaching, so 4 classes a month plus monthly dues, are about $200 a month, which is steep. Instead, can’t I get similar body movements from the Killer Core and Strength Training (that I’m already doing) and drop the indoor gym? Alternatively, can I get another UA plan that will be a good substitute for indoor climbing gym? I’m interested in mountaineering and alpinism and do rock climbing for those objectives.

The problem is that I have easy access to the indoor climbing gym but not to outdoor climbing opportunities.

Thanks!

Posted In: Alpinism

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #43170

Instead, can’t I get similar body movements from the Killer Core and Strength Training (that I’m already doing) and drop the indoor gym? Alternatively, can I get another UA plan that will be a good substitute for indoor climbing gym?

No, absolutely not.

Rock climbing is a complex technique sport (like gymnastics or martial arts) where strength is an important but secondary (perhaps tertiary) component. You will not be able to fitness your way to better rock climbing. You need to practice movement skills.

In addition to a climbing gym, the Anderson book will give you a solid foundation in training fitness and practicing technique. I can’t say this enough: DO NOT neglect the latter.

I’m interested in mountaineering and alpinism and do rock climbing for those objectives.