AeT Test(s) Results

• Creator
    Topic
    Chad Di Stefano
    Participant

I know there are going to be a lot of questions on this, so sorry in advance for the post.

I decided to do some “warm-up” AeT tests last week in preparation for today. I did three tests last week, followed by one today. The results are attached in a spreadsheet. I was hoping I wouldn’t be confused, but I am.

Test 1 (5/11): I’ve been running a few times a week for an hour for a few months and had a feeling my threshold was around 134. I noticed I could comfortably nose breath at or below 134, but above that my nose breathing became a bit labored. I went out with 134 as my goal here, but as you can see I started a little high and blew up a bit over the course of the hour, with an average hr of 138.

Test 2 (5/13): Given the results from test one, I decided to dial it back to 130 as a target. You can see my starting and average were very close, and my pa:hr was just over 5%. My pace was much slower than anticipated. It was a frustrating experience.

Test 3 (5/14): I hadn’t intended to do this on back to back days, but I went out for a light jog and my frustration from the previous day got the best of me. I went out with a goal of “keep it below 130”. You can see my starting and average HR were in line at 128, and my pa:hr was comfortably below 5%. The only real problem was my pace was horrible. I felt like I was a 100 year old runner.

Test 4 (5/16): I took 5/15 off and did UA Yoga. I went out with low expectations this morning, but given the results of test three went back to a 130 target HR. I felt extremely strong the entire run and about halfway in had an expectation that my pa:hr would be comfortably below 5%. I was extremely surprised that the pa:hr was as low as it was (0.84%), but as I said I felt really good.